Skip to content

An October Hike

October 15, 2011

I think Chloe and I have been experiencing Camp Unleashed withdrawal.  So we went hiking with our friend the Editor.  We explored a trail at Catoctin Mountain Park.

The Editor checks her laces by the trailhead

The trail was moderately difficult with a few stream crossings.  What I liked best about it was that it was really well marked with blue blazes.

Can you see the blue blaze?

The weather that day was kind of yucky.  Rainy and misty on and off, although the tree canopy kept us from getting too wet.  As a result, the trail was very quiet, so I let Chloe run until we got close to civilization.

Mama, I gots lots practice being offleash now. I be good, promise!

For the most part she did really well.  Except when I found this adorable mossy rock that would have been great for a picture.

Picturesque (and blurry), no?

And little miss sunshine was too busy rolling in something smelly and disgusting!

Too busy for pikture Mama! Kthxbye!

We experienced some drama later in the hike as it became apparent that both the Editor and I needed to use the facilities.

I packed some Kleenex, but that has always been a very VERY last resort.  I think it goes back to a horribly scarring poison ivy incident in my youth.  For the record, not all leaves can substituted for toilet paper.  You need to stay away from the shiny ones.

Anyway, things were looking grim until we came upon this oasis in the desert:

Salvation!

 

However, it was not to be.  In a cruel twist of fate the facilities had been closed for the season.

I think you can imagine the soul searching that ensued.  And I’m sure you can imagine the overwhelming joy when another facility was discovered not too far away.

After all, every leaf looks shiny when it’s wet.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 8:17 pm

    That is a beautiful place to hike. Love that you and Chloe are getting to enjoy more “off leash” time!

  2. October 18, 2011 9:00 am

    Great story and looks like a wonderful place to hike!

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    October 18, 2011 1:03 pm

    You know, I never thought about “needing to use the facilities” while hiking. Hmmm, goes to show you how often I’ve been hiking! (but I have, I swear) 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Resolution Recap « all things juice

Leave a Reply

