Skip to content

Investment Alert

October 25, 2011

Attention faithful readers (yes, I’m talking to both of you):

I do not normally give investment advice.  However, I have a surefire stock tip that I just have to share.

Buy this stock.

After all, this guy is headed to Baltimore tomorrow.

Safe travels, Poppi!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    October 25, 2011 7:34 pm

    Awwww – Dad’s are great, aren’t they? 🙂

  2. October 26, 2011 10:03 am

    Yay!! Have a great time at Ace Hardware.

    OK, true story about MY dad and Ace Hardware, but you have to know me and my mom to find this as funny as we did at the time. In the weeks after my dad died, so right about now in the calendar, I had to go to Ace Hardware for keys and since my mom wanted to affix his tiny little urn to a wooden piece, I took my dad with me.

    He laughed a lot in his lifetime. So I took him out of my pocket and showed him around the store (which he had been to many times). I told him I remembered all the times he dragged me to the lumberyard when I was a kid and lumberyards weren’t semi-interesting stores like Lowe’s are now and today’s kids don’t know how lucky they are. It was just a stupid lumberyard and I was comatose with boredom, making me charming company, I’m sure. I remember he picked out pickled blue paneling with black in the grooves (it was the early 70s).

    Later, I told my mom about my trip to the hardware store with dad and we laughed until we had tears in our eyes. Grief makes strange things funny. I hope you do not know that now, but decades from now you can remember that I said so.

    And then laugh your head off because it is the best thing for you.

    • Juice permalink*
      October 26, 2011 10:16 am

      Caron, what a great story. You may have a future as a sitcom writer! My condolences on your Dad.

      • October 27, 2011 10:55 am

        Thanks, Juice. It’s been five years. So hard to believe! I can still see him laughing. I know he would have thought the hardware store trip was funny. That could be a scene in a sitcom, come to think of it.

  3. October 26, 2011 11:07 am

    I love when my dad comes to help me fix or build stuff.

    I liked Caren’s story, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

