Skip to content

Bicycles

October 27, 2011

Bicycles are ubiquitous in Amsterdam.

That terrible picture is a group of commuters passing by on their bikes.

Nobody wears a helmet.

Not even the kids.

There are some unusual variations to allow for “trunk space”.

Or extra people.

Or extra little people. Please note the two kid seats on the back of this bike!

And just like in the states, some people can’t seem to resist the urge to pimp their rides!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 9:16 am

    Love it! I found the same in Copenhagen. You could always tell where a train/subway station was located – just look for the hordes of bikes parked together!

  2. tina allen-kolessar permalink
    October 27, 2011 10:35 am

    I love the bicycle culture in Amsterdam. Love, love, love it! We saw people dressed up to attend a wedding bicycling to the church, high heels and all. And the kids hang on the front or the back. And … well, I love the freedom to be carefree. I don’t wear a helmet here, so I was quite comfortable riding all the way out to the suburbs there without a care 😀

  3. debby permalink
    October 27, 2011 10:53 am

    Wow! So did they have bike rental places, and did you ride a bike in Amsterdam?

  4. October 27, 2011 10:54 am

    The motorists in Amsterdam seemed to pay more attention to the cyclists than they do around here. I recall rush hour with hoards of cyclists rushing through the intersections ahead of cars. It was the first time I had ever seen something like that!

  5. October 28, 2011 9:21 am

    What great pictures! They must not feel the need for helmet because the bike culture seems to rule the road, unlike here.

  6. October 28, 2011 12:36 pm

    Abou 3 years ago we sold one of our vehicles and became a 1 car family. My husband was responsbile for the girls so he drove and I would ride my bike to and from work every day. Originally it was about a 4.5 mile round trip ride. Then we sold that house and moved into town and my bike ride to and from work was less than 1 mile but since we lived in town and the girls were now riding bikes we rode our bikes everywhere – all over town. Recently I got a new job about 30 miles away so we had to buy me a car – b/c I hate getting up early to take the bus every day butI still take it a few times a week and on the weekends you will find us on our bikes – even in the cold and snow.

  7. October 28, 2011 12:36 pm

    Oh and I am bad about using a helment around town. My helment is worn for true mountain biking. But the girls have to wear theirs.

Leave a Reply

