Skip to content

This Year Is Over in 13 Days

December 18, 2011

They say that the years just go faster and faster as you get older.  I know that’s true but it just feels like this year has gone even faster than normal!

I’m blaming it on an extended birthday season.  Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years have all just crept up on me.  My “Seasonal Greetings” cards (for work clients) finally posted late Friday.  I’m not even sure if they’re legible I was in such a hurry.  My ambitions to hang some lights in the windows remain simply stray thoughts floating through my head.  I spent Saturday morning wrapping and packaging gifts only to learn that I’m too late to make Christmas on time for my family in Nevada. (Sorry about that KK!  Don’t worry Mom and Dad, you guys are scheduled for Thursday or Friday delivery.)

Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t some rant about Christmas and expectations and stress and whatnot.  The important pieces of Christmas are all here.  I’m beyond delighted to celebrate the birth of Christ and sing hymns and carols celebrating our Savior.   My church is doing a service Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and I look forward to focusing on the true meaning of the holiday.  I’m staying in town this year and spending time with dear friends.  There is a promise of snow flurries tonight and I’m savoring a rare night at home snuggling with Chloe.  Life is very very good.

Life not so good for Uncle Bob's cats. I steal their chair.

I’m not sure there actually is a point to this post.  I think I’m just exhaling after a busy few weeks.  Wishing you and yours a peaceful holiday season.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    December 19, 2011 12:19 am

    and there’s adorable ms. chloe. looking just like that christmas ornament from years gone by. that makes my heart feel all warm and fuzzy. xx

  2. December 19, 2011 11:54 am

    Merry Christmas to you and Chloe, Juice! It is amazing to look back over the year and look forward to next year.

  3. December 19, 2011 7:04 pm

    I’m also exhaling. It’s a wonderful feeling. I don’t realize how much I go 250 mph all year long. I’m finding more quiet time this year than most years. This year’s Christmas is feeling a bit more like Easter this year. I’m not confusing the two, mind you! I just love the thinking I do at Easter and this year I’m spending more time in prayer at Christmas. It’s been rejuvenating. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

