Skip to content

Monkey Business

January 15, 2012

So perhaps you may have noticed a small sock monkey theme in this blog.

An undercurrent if you will.

It really started with Sock Monkey Saturday way back in 2008.  I made my first monkey and I was hooked.  In fact, I was so enamored that I went out and purchased additional sock monkey material.  Visions of a sock monkey factory danced in my head.

And then reality set in and I realized that I’m probably only going to make one monkey per year, and that monkey will be made at the AVAM when I’m surrounded by other monkey enthusiasts and spurred on to complete a project.  It was a hard lesson to learn, but I’m older and wiser now.  Thanks to the sock monkey.

Mr. Excuse Me with his sock monkey Yardstick - December 2009

Even though I’ve realized my own personal sock monkey limitations, I still have a soft spot in my heart for all things of the sock monkey.  Remember this Christmas gift from Mom and Dad back in 2009?

Cecilia appears perplexed by the magic of the monkey

I’ve shared my love of the sock monkey with others.  Remember these monkeys I made for Tank and Cricket?

Cricket named hers Miss Yay.  When I went back to Reno last month I was asked to perform some monkey surgery.  Apparently Miss Yay has been loved a lot.  Yay!

Cricket and Miss Yay

So this Christmas I was particularly touched by a couple of monkey presents I received.

Bosslady gave me a sock monkey Christmas ornament with my name on it.

So cute!

Bosslady also bought a sock monkey toy for Chloe.

Then KK and her family bought Chloe a sock monkey dog bed for Christmas.

Don’t you love when people get you gifts that are just perfectly you?

Chloe with all her monkeys

6 Comments leave one →
  1. debby permalink
    January 15, 2012 9:24 pm

    Oh I love the monkeys too! My niece had a miniature red one and I bugged her so much that she gave it to me. He gets put on the Christmas tree every year now.

    I love all those colorful ones you are doing.

  2. January 15, 2012 10:07 pm

    I have the sock monkey ornament; had to buy it for myself about five years ago. Love the sock monkey.

  3. Danielle permalink
    January 16, 2012 12:04 am

    Too cute. Love the dog bed!

  4. January 16, 2012 10:14 am

    How adorable! Like Danielle, I love the dog bed! (And what a great name for a sock monkey – Miss Yay!)

  5. January 16, 2012 11:07 am

    I adore Chloe’s day bed! So chic! The sock monkeys are beautiful!

    I’m just full of !!s today. 🙂

  6. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    January 18, 2012 12:32 am

    OMG – this is great!

    Sock monkeys are one of those things that freak me out a bit (not sure why). Yet at the same time, I REALLY like them when other people have them in their houses. 🙂

    P.S. Juice – I owe you an email

Leave a Reply

