Skip to content

Venison Trail

February 5, 2012

Chloe and I decided to investigate a new trail last weekend.  We went with some dog friends who knew the lay of the land along the river.

Chloe and Tyler

It was a beautiful sunny day.  The place was deserted except for a few bicyclists.  Chloe was having all kinds of fun.

I Princess of the Patapsco!

At one point Chloe picked up a big stick.  She’s not much of a stick girl usually but I figured she was taking pointers from the big dogs.  She came trotting up from the riverbank all happy and cheerful wanting to show off her stick.

Except that it wasn’t a stick.

Mama look! I keep it?

Yeah.  They don’t cover that in puppy class.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2012 11:43 am

    EEeeeewwwww!

    I mean, good job, Chloe, for seeking out your own dinner in the wild and everything.

  2. February 5, 2012 1:15 pm

    Wow – I had to do a double-take on that last picture! What did you do?

    • February 6, 2012 3:28 pm

      I was able to get her to drop it in exchange for a treat without having to actually touch the deer. Then I clipped her leash on immediately!

  3. danielle permalink
    February 5, 2012 4:59 pm

    Oh man! Crazy!

  4. February 5, 2012 9:24 pm

    It took me awhile to figure out what she had in her mouth…but when I did? Well, it’s been awhile since I laughed that hard! Clever girl, that Chloe. Doesn’t settle for just ANY old stick!

  5. debby permalink
    February 5, 2012 10:12 pm

    Ew.

    I had to get a dead bird away from Noah last week. That was a scene… Did Chloe give it up willingly?

  6. February 6, 2012 2:46 pm

    That is great! At least it wasn’t a stinky fish that she decided to roll in. My dog loves to find the stinkiest thing she can and then roll it. Then when I have to give her a bath she hates baths and makes me feel like the bad guy!

  7. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    February 6, 2012 4:41 pm

    Juice…I am….so….so…..SO FREAKED OUT right now!!!!!!! *shiver*

  8. February 7, 2012 3:35 pm

    You could’ve made venison soup!

Leave a Reply

