Skip to content

Rachel Ray Doesn’t Need To Worry About Competition From Me

February 8, 2012

Let me just preface this post by saying that I am in no way a food blogger.

I don’t take pretty food pictures.  I won’t be giving any prep techniques or pointers about how to get the fluffiest eggs or tenderest meat.

However, I did make a resolution to try new recipes.  So here’s a quick recap of my recent experiments.

1. Pistachio Chicken with Couscous and Greens

I found this one in my favorite middle-aged-lady magazine and served it to some friends.  I skipped the couscous and greens opting for rice and broccoli instead, but that’s mostly because I was lazy and didn’t feel like making an extra trip to the grocery store.  The chicken went over well, although it took longer to cook than I expected.  My chicken pieces were probably too thick.  If I did this again I might pound them flat before breading.

2. Penny Casserole

I’ve been on a quest lately to use up existing food stores.  This was prompted by a pantry discovery of a can of pineapple that was one month past expiration date.  (Of course I still ate it.  It was fine.)  Who knows how many years that pineapple has been sitting in my pantry?  Yikes.  Anyway, I’ve had some diced ham in the freezer and I finally decided that it’s moment in the spotlight had come.  I found this recipe on the internet and it looked promising enough.  Who doesn’t like ham and potatoes?

In a word, meh.  I reduced the ham from 2 cups to 1.25 and I still felt like there was a LOT of ham going on in there.  Plus (and this is weird coming from me) I found it overly salty.  Yes, I am the girl who requests salt with every meal.  And yes, I have been known to punch up a chocolate chip cookie dough recipe with an extra hit of salt.  So if you cook this one up be sure to serve it with a side of diuretic of your choice.

3. Cookie Dough Dip

With butter, sugar, cream cheese and chocolate, this was destined to be a winner.  My only critique is that you need to double the recipe.  Seriously.  Because it could be a little embarrassing to walk into a party with just a thimbleful of dip.  Not that I’d know anything about that.

And there you have it.  Stay tuned for more reports from the trenches.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. danielle permalink
    February 8, 2012 7:42 am

    Loved the cookie dough dip!

  2. sparkles permalink
    February 8, 2012 10:07 am

    This post puts me in mind of http://myfridgefood.com/ —where you tell it what’s on hand, and it suggest recipes. Neat, right?!

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    February 8, 2012 8:32 pm

    This post made me think about what I have in my fridge RIGHT NOW (besides condiments).

    *Brita water
    *A couple of free-range brown eggs (possibly past their expiration date)
    *Some beer left by an ex

    That’s it.

    So the fact that you make REAL food? IMPRESSIVE. 😀

  4. February 20, 2012 11:24 am

    I love having an eat-down. It makes me get creative and I usually end up eating some good food. But sometimes it just doesn’t pull together.

Leave a Reply

