Skip to content

I’m Still Here

March 11, 2012

Oh have I neglected this blog!  I have things to say (not many, but  some) and pictures to post but life has gotten BUSY.  And, all things being equal, sleep trumps blogging.

So I will leave you with a gratuitous Chloe picture and a question.

Gratuitous Chloe pic:

I topple dis tree all by self

And the question:  If you read She’s Come Undone, did you think of it as ultimately triumphant and hopeful or slit-your-own-wrists depressing?  Discuss.

I no read book. On account no thumbses.

 

Goodnight to all.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2012 9:31 pm

    Chloe is so cute! She looks the queen of the world on the log.
    I no read that book either Chloe – I have thumbs but grandbabies keep me too busy.

  2. March 12, 2012 9:55 am

    Aww, Hi Chloe!
    No, I have not read the book and now I’m scared to.

  3. debby permalink
    March 12, 2012 11:55 am

    LOL. Haven’t read the book, but love reading Chloe.

  4. March 13, 2012 12:19 pm

    I read She’s Come Undone a loooooooooooooong time ago, but really remember liking it at the time. I thought that Wally Lamb did a bang-up job of writing the story from a female perspective, which many male authors are not able to do.

  5. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    March 13, 2012 7:32 pm

    I read the book and had the complete opposite reaction. I didn’t think he did a good job writing from a female perspective AT ALL.

    In high school (the first time I read it), I remember being particularly annoyed over the fact that there wasn’t enough emphasis on the main characters weight issue (considering she was supposed to be obese-like-a-whale). I think there are certain things women do (esp if overweight) – such as WEIGHING themselves. There isn’t much of that in the book so I thought it was rather unrealistic.

    Then I reread the book post-college, then a couple of years ago and found that I liked it a lot better. Whether that was because *I* had matured or I purposely ignored the lack of “obessing over the scale/trying to find clothes that fit”, I don’t know. But I now think it is well written with a voice draws you into the story.

    Personally, I didn’t think it was ‘slit-your-wrists-depressing’ but at the same time didn’t feel like it was ‘triumphant’ either. I felt like it was more of a “slice of life”. I believe it was SUPPOSED to be triumphant (ie. look at all I have overcome) but in truth, isn’t that what growing up is all about?

  6. Julie permalink
    March 14, 2012 10:54 am

    I read it a very long time ago, I don’t remember it being slit your wrists but I also don’t remember it being a wow book. It had it’s moments. I only read books that reel me in from the start and I remember struggling thru that one. Because of the weight issue I was connecting but at the same time it was too far fetched for me to connect with all her love issues. Not on my top 10 list for sure.

Leave a Reply

