Skip to content

Catching Up

March 20, 2012

Wow, my blogging frequency has certainly taken a turn for the worse.  Let’s do a quick catch-up, bullet style.  These days I am…

  • Anticipating   My local park is getting a makeover.  New lights, new paths and I’m not sure what else, but it is exciting!  Exciting for me to watch and exciting for Chloe to sniff.  All that fresh dirt is heaven to her little nose.  And mud to my kitchen floor.

Old path and new path

  • Cooking   Keeping with my New Year’s resolution I cooked pork chops in the toaster oven last week.   I used this recipe as my base. Yum!
  • Making   I have discovered a new avocation: toy repair.  Remember when I had to repair Pedro?  I found it oddly rewarding.  Since then I’ve repaired the rest of Chloe’s toys as well as toys for two other dogs.  There are all kinds of studies that show that working with your hands increases your sense of contentment.  Repairing toys gives me a small creative outlet, plus it saves me money and extends Chloe’s enjoyment.  Win win win.

Unfortunately, that poor monkey was beyond repair

  • Contemplating   A new dining room table and chairs.  My current table is a holdover from my very first apartment here in Baltimore.  It only seats four people comfortably.  It’s time to get a real adult dining room table.  Feel free to weigh in with your dining room table shopping advice.

What? You don't keep a bike and a dog crate in your dining room?

  • Sightseeing   Mom is coming in town just in time for peak bloom at the Cherry Blossom Festival.  I hope the weather cooperates.

Just to be clear, these aren't cherry blossoms

Mama, use dis piktur. It better.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    March 20, 2012 9:58 pm

    I can’t wait to see the new park!

  2. March 21, 2012 7:57 am

    Yes, Chloe, that piktur is MUCH better! We have company coming for Cherry Blossom Festival, too! Yay for spring!

  3. March 21, 2012 9:20 am

    Love the toy repair! I know exactly what you mean about using your hands to do good things – I am not a gardener or a green thumb but I love occasionally working with plants – there is just something about it that is calming.

  4. Mom permalink
    March 21, 2012 10:44 am

    Tucker sending two toys north for repair. Rocky got zealous wid them on last sleep over.

  5. debby permalink
    March 21, 2012 11:00 am

    Great to hear from you and Chloe. Wow, that would be so great to see the Cherry Blossom Festival.

    And your dining room? Well, I don’t have a bike in mine, but yours is unbelievable clean and clutter free! Mine is no longer the dining room, it is the sewing room. Sometimes I eat my dinner on the sewing table. Sometimes I use a tv tray. I think I went past the ‘real adult’ stage right into the ‘curmudgeonly hermit’ stage.

  6. March 21, 2012 1:22 pm

    That last photo is great! Too bad for poor monkey. 😦

Leave a Reply

