Skip to content

Benjamin Moore Comes To Visit

April 12, 2012

Once upon a time there was a girl who lived in a small house in the city.  For many years that house was painted white white white builder white.

Then one day the girl decided to add a little color to her life.

She started small: an accent wall in green.  Then a bathroom in a lovely shade of blue.  Then a bedroom in green.

Cecilia in the green bedroom

Things were going swimmingly!  The girl decided to go even bolder with her color.  She painted the dining room a pumpkin orange and it looked pretty.

The girl became overconfident in her ability to pick colors.  And that is how she ended up with a radioactive blue bathroom.

Don't stare at this picture too long. You may burn your retinas.

The girl tried to learn to love the radioactive blue.  Her friends said sweet lies to her including “Oh, I really like it” and “It’s not too bright”  and “Live with it a while, I bet you’ll get used to it.”

The girl’s friends were baldfaced liars.

And so the girl, scarred by her poor selection abilities, bought sample after sample of paint.

Her beloved dog made suggestions too.

Mama, dis color best bet. Trust me. I colorblind.

Oh, how that radioactive blue fought back.  It cast blue reflections on her samples and distorted the color.  It taunted the girl with it’s obnoxious brightness.  It cast aspersions at her color selection savvy.

But the girl persevered.  She researched paint selection on the interwebs.  She stared at picture after picture.  She agonized over her decision.

She selected Cornsilk.

And restored her sense of paint selection dignity.

The end.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. danielle permalink
    April 12, 2012 8:26 am

    Looks great!

  2. April 12, 2012 8:42 am

    I love love love color on the walls of a house! Give me the beautiful shades you’ve chosen any day over the blah off whites and beiges!

  3. debby permalink
    April 12, 2012 1:10 pm

    Love all your color choices. I was going to paint my dining room pumpkin at one time. It seems like such a warm cozy color.

  4. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    April 15, 2012 12:28 am

    Love that shade of Cornsilk! 🙂 So….did you paint it yourself or hire someone? I keep thinking I need to put some color on the walls, yet I balk at the idea of the the prep work (patching holes, scraping bumps, priming THEN painting – never mind the trauma of picking out a color). But I hate the idea of paying $$$ even more! Hence, the white walls that came with the apartment remain.

    • Juice permalink*
      April 16, 2012 11:16 am

      Brooklyn, you’ve been reading this blog long enough to know: had I actually painted it myself, I would totally be bragging about it!

  5. April 15, 2012 8:02 am

    LOVE the cornsilk!!
    Over the weekend, I painted two (!) bathrooms in my house. I had the colors picked out ahead of time, but when I got to the store, I made a complete color change for the master bath and now it is even more beautiful than I imagined. It is blue, but not the radioactive kind. 🙂 I am with you, walls need color.

  6. April 19, 2012 12:17 pm

    That’s really pretty. I keep thinking about painting my bathroom. I even know the colors. It’s the painting. Oh, how difficult to paint. I hate it!

Leave a Reply

