Skip to content

The Great Frappucino Fail of 2012

May 24, 2012

I’m not sure how much we’ve discussed my frugal streak on this blog.  Let’s just say I’ve got a healthy one.

Not too long ago I purchased a latte from one of my favorite local coffee shops (support local business!), Koba Cafe.  I didn’t finish the entire drink, so I got the brilliant idea to freeze my leftovers and create my own frappucino in the future.  Frugalicious!

Except that a latte frozen into an ice cube tray is really hard to release.  And you’ll end up with several latte cubes on the kitchen floor.

Then when you pull out the blender you’ll neglect to notice that the rubber gasket has come undone, rendering the blender leaky.  And you’ll end up with milk all over the countertop.

That’s a lot of mess for a morning beverage. Note the latte film in the ice cube tray. Those cubes were stuck fast!

Then when you finally use a mini-chopper to blend that puppy up you’ll somehow mess up the latte / milk ratio.  And you’ll end up with a latte sno-cone.

Not quite what I anticipated, but still tasty.*

Perhaps some things are better left to the professionals.

 

 

 

*Why yes, that is a vintage 1992 Mardi Gras plastic cup.  I’m so glad you noticed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    May 24, 2012 1:23 pm

    You apparently have a healthier sense of humor than I do. This is the kind of thing that would have me shrieking “WTF?!” especially when I’m PMSing. 😛

  2. May 24, 2012 2:49 pm

    Wow, you do sound awfully cool, calm and collected considering the big fat mess that was. Awesome. I do believe I would have made up a totally new curse word. Or three. Glad it was yummy. You have me wanting a frappacino slushee now!

  3. May 24, 2012 3:07 pm

    I LOVE that you did this!

  4. Caron permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:37 am

    I love it! I once made something I think was called a Brazilian lemonade in my food processor. Yep, liquid everywhere just like yours. And then I have had strawberry smoothie leak out of the blender. But the funniest was when I discovered that you can freeze bananas, put them in the food processor and make “ice cream” out of them without any other ingredients. It was hilarious even to me at the time that I was holding onto to that appliance for dear life just trying to keep it from bouncing off the counter and onto the floor!

    For all my trouble, I found that I don’t like banana “ice cream” in the least little bit.

Leave a Reply

