Skip to content

It’s Like I Had A Magic Wand For A Weekend

June 2, 2012

I’m not quite sure why my parents enjoy coming up to visit me.  Perhaps they have acquired a hankering for Baltimore in their retirement.  It certainly can’t be because of the luxurious accommodations and fine entertainment I provide.  Let’s recap the bountiful spread and gracious hostessing that occurs here at Casa Juice:

1. The house is fairly small.  As in the bike is stored in the dining room small.  And while my guests do get their own bedroom and bathroom, it comes with a caveat:

2. The AC does not work that well, especially upstairs where the bedrooms are.  There is probably a 5+ degree difference between the downstairs and the upstairs.  The AC is so bad that I normally use a separate window unit in my bedroom just to sleep comfortably.  (To be fair here, I have to say that I don’t use my own private window unit when I have guests.  That would just be mean.)

3. I’m not an accomplished cook.  I make a breakfast casserole and have coffee fixings, but we generally end up eating the rest of the meals out of the house.

4. I get cranky when I need to sleep or eat.  So much so that we have a family saying, “Nobody likes a cranky Juice.”

In spite of these drawbacks, Mom and Dad still travel to visit me.  And what’s even more amazing is that they work like dogs while they are here.

Dad installing a light. Chloe supervising.

In the space of one long weekend we (and when I say we I really mean they) planted 13 new plants,

Vanna White modeling the basil

purchased all the necessary gardening accouterments,

In progress: the back 40 (inches)

replaced the front light fixture,

Finished light. Chloe on a ledge. Tucker supervising.

reinstalled a broken bi-fold door (a side note: bi-fold doors are of the devil), caulked the baseboards that are against exterior walls, installed the window AC unit, purchased a new chest to hold hats / scarves / mittens, moved all kinds of furniture around and installed lights on the basement landing.  Seriously, I had to have multiple caffeinated beverages daily just to keep up with them!

No rest for the weary

Doncha love my new side entrance planters?

I love hydrangeas, Also too? I manage to not kill them.

Mom and Dad, you guys are the best!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 2:59 pm

    A visit from the ‘rents always makes life better! Love the new additions to the landscaping (and sidewalk scaping!)

  2. June 4, 2012 10:53 am

    Your ‘rents are awesome!! I hope you hugged them lots! Your house is beautiful. And Chloe is darling as ever.

Trackbacks

  1. Cool Chicken And Noodle Salad « all things juice

Leave a Reply

