Skip to content

Tiramisu!

August 11, 2012

So I have to say that trying new recipes has been one of my favorite New Year’s Resolutions so far.  I’m glad I didn’t quantify this goal.  It would stress me out to feel that I still needed to try X number of recipes before December.

This past weekend I attempted tiramisu for the first time.  I used this recipe from Reader’s Digest, partly because it required a food processor.*  My notes are in italics.

Heavenly Tiramisu

Work time: 15 minutes
Total time: 15 minutes + chilling time
Servings: 9

1 c fat-free ricotta cheese

8 oz mascarpone (about 3/4 c)

2 Tbsp 2% milk or water
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 c + 2 Tbsp sugar, divided
1 1/2 c brewed espresso or
4 tsp instant espresso powder dissolved in (I used Taster’s Choice)
1 1/2 c boiling water
24 store-bought crisp ladyfingers (Savoiardi), 7 oz total (I used a 12 oz pack of Stella d’Oro Margherite).
2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, divided

1. Put ricotta, mascarpone, milk, vanilla extract, and 1/4 cup of the sugar in food processor and process until creamy.

2. Combine hot espresso and remaining 2 tablespoons sugar in a pie plate or shallow dish and stir until sugar dissolves.

3. Dip each ladyfinger in the espresso mixture, working quickly, and arrange half of them in a single layer in an 8″ x 8″ baking or serving dish. Spread half of the ricotta mixture evenly on top. Put 1 teaspoon of the cocoa in small strainer and dust over cream.  (I don’t own a strainer but my dust turned out fine.)  Repeat with remaining ladyfingers, ricotta mixture, and 1 teaspoon cocoa.

4. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate 6 hours or overnight before serving.

The biggest challenge with this recipe was dipping the ladyfingers in the coffee.  For starters, you probably want to let the coffee cool a little before so that you don’t burn your fingers.  Then there is the question of how long to soak the cookies.  Too long and they completely fall apart before you can get them in the pan.  Too brief and the dessert ends up kind of dry tasting.  I guess it comes done to personal preference.  I’m a moist dessert kind of girl.

 

*Back story on the food processor:  I won it in the first giveaway Censational Girl ever hosted.  Said processor proceeded to sit on a shelf for a very very very long time, mocking me.  And then I finally started using it.  The end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

