Skip to content

A Newport Getaway

August 14, 2012

Last month I ran away from the Baltimore heat and humidity for a weekend in Newport with my oldest friend Lala.  And by oldest friend I don’t mean that she’s fixing to push up daisies.  I mean that Lala is my only friend who knew me in diapers, although I doubt she remembers me at that age – she was in diapers too!

We stopped for coffee in Lala’s old stomping grounds – South Boston.

We had a great time wandering around Newport all weekend.

Lala was our official Newport guide.  She had a summer house in town one year, which meant she knew all the secret parking spots and easiest bathroom stops.

Here Lala shows off her local knowledge

We had a tough time finding a hotel as we happened to pick the exact same weekend as the Newport Folk Festival.  We ended up in the Middletown Ramada.  As we checked in we asked about the free breakfast.  The hotel clerk gushed that the breakfast was AWESOME.

AWESOME, defined

Um, somehow I think my Amsterdam hotel breakfasts were just a little more awesome.

Saturday morning we took a walk along the Cliff Walk.

Later that day I made sure to get my lobster fix.

Wicked good lobstah

We saw mansions, toured Chepstow, shopped, talked, and got dressed up for a night on the town.

On the grounds at Marble House

Until this happened

Which meant that I acquired a slightly unexpected Newport souvenir:

Behold, the hot pink Newport raincoat!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 2:12 pm

    This looks like SUCH fun! I’ve always wanted to go to Newport!

  2. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    August 17, 2012 1:00 pm

    OMG – I LOVE (love love love) Newport!!!! If I ever win the lottery I want to buy a place up there! I adore the mansion tours and the cliff walk. Argh, now I want to go back up there!

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    August 17, 2012 1:06 pm

    Heyyyyy~~~~ just realized you changed your header pic! REALLY GREAT shot of Chloe’s adorable little tail. 🙂 And I love the graphic quality of it too. It’s awesome.

    P.S. I owe you an email.

  4. August 20, 2012 7:33 am

    Looks like you had a great time! I love trips like these, even with the rain.

Leave a Reply

