Skip to content

Finding Misty

October 21, 2012

Did any of you read Misty of Chincoteague as a kid?  Or Stormy, Misty’s Foal?

I was a sucker for a horse book back in the day.  Black Beauty, Black Stallion, Misty, you name it.  But something about Misty set it apart from the other books:  it was based on real events.  Specifically the Chincoteague Pony Swim.

Last Monday, Jersey and I played hooky from work and went to see the ponies at Assateague and Chincoteague.

Jersey thinks I’m ridiculous with the picture taking

Three hours later we reach Virginia’s Eastern Shore.

The marshes are beautiful.

People here anticipate bad weather – check out the stilts on that house!

This whimsical house has to lift anyone’s spirits.

Jersey and I waiting for the boat tour of Assateague.

Our colorful captain kept us entertained.  His grandmother went to school with the Beebe children (the main characters in the book).

We saw the Assateague lighthouse…

and lots of birds…

but no ponies!  No ponies!!!!  Jersey and I decided that we weren’t leaving without seeing those dang ponies.  We drove over the bridge to Assateague and finally found what we were looking for – ponies!

I wish I had brought binoculars…

And perhaps my last view of the Atlantic Ocean.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    October 21, 2012 8:28 am

    No ponies? How odd and unacceptable! I loved, loved, loved those books when I was a kid. I think many, many little girls go through a “horse phase,” don’t you!?

    p.s. And I hope it’s not your last look at the Atlantic. Perhaps you’ll see it from Portugal one day? Who knows where your adventures might take you!

  2. October 22, 2012 7:52 am

    I wanted a horse so badly as a little girl. Looking back, I now know why my parents never got one for me!

    This is such a fun, cool adventure! I live in VA but have never been to the Eastern Shore – I must make it priority! And so glad you got to see ponies before you left.

Leave a Reply

