Skip to content

The Trip West – Day 3

November 9, 2012

We left Arkansas at 6:45 am and drove into Oklahoma.

Welcome to Oklahoma. We have tepees.

I had no idea how much Indian culture was a part of Oklahoma.  It was really fascinating to see.  We stopped at the welcome center for a map.  Dad took the opportunity to clean the windows while Chloe supervised.

Dis my car. You miss a spot.

Henrietta, OK was our next stop for a fill up ($3.57 a gallon).  I couldn’t resist this photo opportunity with Chloe.  The Pig Out Palace was right next to the Chair Crushers Grill.   I promise I’m not making this stuff up!

See?

We saw lots of wind farms, cotton fields and even buffalo!  I found this sculpture in Oklahoma City interesting.

We ate lunch at Panera in an OKC suburb.  I’m still dreaming of the iced coffee there.  Fully caffeinated we headed towards Texas.

Welcome to Texas. Don’t mess with us.

Chloe seemed to enjoy Texas.

No be sarcastic Mama. It not becoming.

And before you knew it we were in New Mexico.

We spent the night in Tucumcari which delighted me to no end.  I spent the night searching for weed, whites and wine.  If you don’t get that last sentence it’s a musical reference.  I don’t ever go searching for weed or whites.   And if I did, do you really think I’d cop to it on this blog?

I learned an important life lesson in Tucumcari.  When you see a van full of aspiring amateur photographers with very large expensive cameras setting up to take a picture from a certain angle it’s a good idea to take a picture at the exact same time from the exact same angle.  Because even with an iPhone your shot is going to turn out pretty well.

Look at me pretending to have photog skillz

And that was Day 3.  Total mileage 718.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sparkles permalink
    November 9, 2012 5:08 pm

    Chloe telling you not to be sarcastic was priceless! 😀

  2. November 9, 2012 5:28 pm

    Only in the south and mid-west do you get great names like those stores and restaurants. What a great country we live in!

  3. November 10, 2012 12:16 am

    Alas we got to Chair Crushers on a Thursday so could not take advantage of the ‘two fer special’ offered only on Tuesdays! Drat…
    Correction on the photo of me cleaning the windshield with Chloe supervising; obviously I had finished the windshield and was doing the back window in the photo… or did we travel all that way in reverse???

  4. November 10, 2012 7:54 am

    Ooooooooooops… misread Juice’s narrative about me cleaning car’s windows. I thought it read ‘windshield’ not ‘windows’, so my correction comment above is in error.

  5. debby permalink
    November 12, 2012 12:29 am

    Catching up again! I’m amazed at the mileage you made every day. I’m amazed that you kept driving through a tornado WARNING!! That means that there’s one on the ground. I’m sure I never did that when I was your age and lived in Texas…

Leave a Reply

