Skip to content

A Trip To San Francisco

December 23, 2012

My friend the Auditor from Baltimore had a business trip to San Francisco.  She arranged to come out early so that we could have some fun.

There are several ways to get to SF from Sacramento.  I was warned not to drive all the way in – too much traffic, especially this close to the holidays.  I elected to take the ferry from Vallejo (about 1.25 hours from Sacramento).

IMG_1600

The ferry!

The ferry took about an hour.  As I looked out the window at all the bay traffic I thought of my Dad.  As a former Navy guy he always enjoys watching a busy harbor.

IMG_1604

Dad, come back out to visit. We’ll take the ferry.

The Auditor had digs at the swanky Sir Francis Drake Hotel.  I arrived before her and had the pleasure of listening to a children’s string performance in the lobby.

IMG_1605

Don’t be hatin’ on my photog skillz

Our room was lovely and boutique-hotel-y.

IMG_1607

We shopped Union Square,

IMG_1609

and then headed to the Curran Theater to try and win The Book of Mormon lottery tickets.

IMG_1610

Us posing with the winning tickets

Alas, we did not win.

So we went back to Union Square and shopped some more.  I was on a quest for a particular gift for KK.

IMG_1611

The next morning we wandered over to Pacific Heights for breakfast at The Grove.  A local pointed us in this direction and it was YUMMY.

IMG_1619

Yummy and super cute. We could have stayed there for hours.

Then we headed to see the Painted Ladies, the Auditor’s only touristy request.

IMG_1623

The Auditor preps her camera

I was completely oblivious to the fact that this was the scene in the opening credits of Full House.  But then again I think we all know how I feel about TV.

IMG_1624

The rest of the neighborhood wasn’t too shabby either!

IMG_1622

Walking around the city made me miss living in Baltimore.  It was so nice to be in the heart of everything.

We finished up with some more shopping in Pacific Heights.  I was so pleased to see Marissa’s book for sale!  I’ve been following her blog for a while.  Maybe one day I’ll actually execute on one of her dreamy recipes…

IMG_1620

Rock on Marissa!

The Auditor and I ended our visit with a Ghiradelli ice cream lunch.  Delicious!

IMG_1628

Why yes, that is me with the watermelon head. Why do you ask?

Auditor, I sure hope you get lots more business trips to San Francisco.  I can’t wait to do this again!

One Comment leave one →
  1. debby permalink
    December 24, 2012 11:20 am

    Wow, you did the town up right! I need to be a tourist in San Francisco with you!

    Merry Christmas, Juice! I hope to see you in the new year.

Leave a Reply

