Skip to content

The Sacramento Walking Sticks

January 7, 2013

Making friends and learning about the community are among the toughest things to do when you move.  How fortunate am I that I have found an organization that allows me to do both: the Sacramento Walking Sticks.  The Sticks are the Nation’s largest AVA affiliated walking club.  Fortunately for me and Chloe, they have a lot of events!

We saw this house in Curtis Park during a “book club” walk.  Everyone read a book, we walked, and then we went to a bakery to discuss our reading.  Doesn’t that sound perfect for me?  The bakery had seating outside, so Chloe was able to participate as well.

IMG_1647

This was another pretty home in Curtis Park.

IMG_1651

On two other evenings we participated in a Christmas Lights walk.  It was neat to see the way different neighborhoods come together to celebrate the holidays.

IMG_1669

Some Sticks members ahead of me in a lighted pathway in East Sacramento

IMG_1672

Chloe and I are looking forward to many more adventures with the Sticks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 8:25 am

    This looks fun! Did people approach Christmas decorating differently on the West Coast?

    • Juice permalink*
      January 8, 2013 4:45 pm

      No, not really. But it’s much easier for them to take outdoor decorations down since the weather is nicer!

  2. Barbara Nuss permalink
    January 7, 2013 7:06 pm

    I’m tickled pink that you and Chloe found the Sticks. I get excited each time I see you approach the sign-in table because I know we’re in for a grant adventure. How about if you and I plan some Walkin’ the Dog outings? Perhaps I could persuade a veterinarian to walk with us and when we finish our 3-mile walk, the vet could talk with us about a particular topic. Or we could get some of the Vet Techs from the college where I work to come and clip our dog’s toes at a nominal fee to help their club and help us? Or we could maybe get a dog trainer to come and give us tips on how to properly walk or train our dogs?The possibilities are endless and I’ve thought of many–just haven’t put any into reality.

    • Juice permalink*
      January 8, 2013 4:46 pm

      Ooh Barbara – I like your thinking!

Leave a Reply

