Skip to content

It’s My Lucky Day

January 27, 2013

My love for the library is widely known.  In fact, one of the first things I did in Sacramento was obtain my library card.

My local branch, Arden-Dimick, is walking distance from the apartment (a long-ish walk on a busy-ish road, but still).  It also happens to be right on my commute home.  The building has a handy neon sign announcing Open or Closed so that I can decide whether I want to stop without having to pull into the parking lot and check the hours.  Doncha just hate walking up to a library only to find the doors locked?

One of the nicest features of the Sacramento Library system is the Lucky Day Shelf.  It’s a collection of the most requested books and DVDs available for immediate check out.  Sure, you can sign up for a book and wait in line like everyone else, but isn’t it fun when you walk into the library only to realize that today is your lucky day?

IMG_1743

So if you’ll excuse me, I have some reading to do…

IMG_1742After all, it’s my lucky day!

Gratuitous Chloe picture:

IMG_1744

Mama, why you call me puppy burrito?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    January 27, 2013 12:44 pm

    I love the puppy burrito!!!!!!!!!!!! Soooo cute. And I HATE getting to the library and it is closed!! At least I know I am not the only one who has done that….on more than one occasion.

  2. January 27, 2013 11:48 pm

    Oh how far you’ve come from Laura Ingals Wilder…

  3. January 28, 2013 8:44 am

    Just getting caught up with the Juice! Sacramento looks lovely! I liked the walking tour! those are always a lot of fun. I think I’ll put that on my list for DC. You know, when it’s warmer. 🙂 So glad you are settling in to your new city!

  4. Brooklyn permalink
    January 28, 2013 2:39 pm

    I luuuuuuurve the library!!!!!

    I too have one within walking distance (like 4 blocks). But it’s small and their ‘stocked items’ aren’t very good and their staff isn’t particularly friendly (ie. hence I keep interactions to a minimum). Basically I take advantage of the ‘order system’ – order online, go in, auto check out, leave.

    I smiled over the hours thing though – since I always go to the library on the same day (Sat) before I go grocery shopping.

    P.S. Gratuitous Chloe pic get two thumbs up!!!

  5. debby permalink
    January 28, 2013 11:05 pm

    Awww. CUTE Chloe picture!

  6. January 29, 2013 12:18 pm

    Love the Lucky Day shelf and I can’t wait to hear how you like Flight Behavior!

Leave a Reply

