Skip to content

Showing Off Sacramento

February 14, 2013

After our visit in Napa I had one day in Sacramento to show Neighbor C my new home.  And you know, I felt kind of nervous about it.  Sorta like when you introduce your new boyfriend to your friends for the first time.  Will they like each other?  Will they want to hang out?

And let’s face it, while I love Sacramento, it doesn’t ever top anyone’s Must Visit Before I Die list.

Most people say that the best thing about Sacramento is it’s proximity to other things (Napa, Tahoe, San Fran, etc).  While I think this is a mean-spirited opinion, it does have some traction.

Anyhoo, before we could even venture into Sac-o-tomato, we did a quick jaunt up to Folsom.  My friend and fellow blogger Debby was having a quilt show.  None of my pictures are close enough to show, but almost all of the quilts have scriptures stitched into them.  It was a really nice show – I can’t believe how many quilts Debby created for this event!

IMG_1879This one was my favorite:

IMG_1878

And this one was Neighbor C’s fave.

IMG_1880

I’m so glad we had a chance to fit this show into our weekend!

The rest of the day was spent driving and walking around Sacramento: Downtown, Midtown, Alkali Flats, the Blue Diamond almond store (which was, regretably, closed on Sundays!), the Capitol, the Kay, etc .

IMG_1887

The Kay!

We had lunch in midtown at Tapa the World.  As you can guess, it was Asian fusion.

No, I’m kidding.  It was tapas.  Did you really fall for that?

Neighbor C was giddy that we were eating outside in January.

IMG_1881

Someone is loving the sunshine

She was also giddy about the wild turkeys.

IMG_1885Who knew that one of the most interesting Sacramento attractions would be just out my door?

So I think Neighbor C and Sacramento will be friends.  I’m so glad they like each other.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    February 14, 2013 2:56 pm

    LOVE the quilts!!!!! (I wish I could sew…..)

    Also – yeah, WOW, can’t believe you have TURKEYS just walking around!!!!!!

  2. debby permalink
    February 16, 2013 8:31 pm

    Wow, just catching up! You guys chose the two most popular quilts in the show.

    Once again, I am astounded that you know more about the local area than I know after living and working here for over 25 years! Love the turkeys in the apartment complex!

Trackbacks

  1. Turkeys Gone Wild | all things juice

Leave a Reply

