Skip to content

Snowshoeing

February 20, 2013

The other day I decided to try snowshoeing.  I woke up early Sunday to meet my REI classmates for the trip to Donner Tahoe.  What is it with me and early morning weekend activities?

IMG_1929

It was 22 degrees when we arrived.  Honestly I was a little worried about my clothing choices.  By the time we finished putting our gear on my fingers and toes were cold!  A pair of handwarmers in my gloves helped tremendously.

IMG_1931

Look Mom! Bare hands!

IMG_1949

The class was great.  Along with snowshoeing techniques, we also learned some really valuable wilderness skills, such as how to identify potentially weak snow.  Snowshoeing is all fun and games until someone falls into a tree well.

IMG_1938

We hiked a short piece of the Pacific Crest Trail.

IMG_1952

Donner Lake is behind us in that picture.

Hiking at 7400 feet is tough!   Although the views were stunning, a good bit of the hike I just watched my feet.

IMG_1947

Boy is that scenic

By the time we finished our expedition the weather had reached a balmy 30 degrees.

IMG_1948I can’t wait to go back!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 8:37 am

    That is what is so cool about where you live in CA! You can eat breakfast outside at a cafe and then drive a couple hours and snowshoe!

  2. February 20, 2013 9:40 am

    You’ll be fly fishing next!

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    February 20, 2013 11:33 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try snowshoeing!!!! 🙂 P.S. yes, I know – owe you an email!

  4. February 22, 2013 12:06 am

    Sooooo beautiful

  5. debby permalink
    February 28, 2013 10:53 am

    Catching up again on your blog! You’ve been busy. That big picture of you in the snow is gorgeous! I went snowshoeing ONCE. It was hard work!

    And yes, CHLOE FOR PRESIDENT!!

  6. debby permalink
    February 28, 2013 10:54 am

    Oh wait. That wasn’t snowshoeing. It was cross country skiing…

Leave a Reply

