Skip to content

Book Club Soup

March 9, 2013

I guess my New Years Resolution for 2012 has stuck.  I still enjoy trying new recipes, like this one that I made for book club last night.  Once again Woman’s Day has come through with a winner.

Italian Pasta and Bean Soup*

  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic (I used less – 2 cloves)
  • 6 cups  chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups  small pasta (I used ditilini)
  • 2 cans (15 oz) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cans (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes in juice
  • 1/2 cups fresh parsley, chopped (I used more)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan (I used more)
Directions
  1. Heat 1 T oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion and saute 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for 1 minute (do not let it brown).
  2. Add the broth bring to a boil. Add pasta and cook 5 minutes.
  3. Stir in the beans and tomatoes and cook 4 more minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in the parsley, Parmesan and 2 tsp olive oil. (I used my good California olive oil for the finish)  Serve immediately.

This recipe came together in a half hour and got lots of compliments.  I served it with bread from my favorite bakery.

*How interesting – the linked version of this recipe on the Woman’s Day site is slightly different from the magazine version.  The directions above are from the magazine version.  Click through the link if you want to see the changes.  I’m sticking with my paper version!

Update:  In my opinion this does not freeze well.  The pasta gets too mushy and the flavor seems not as tasty as I remembered it.  Invite lots of friends when you make this soup.

One Comment leave one →
  1. DMW permalink
    March 11, 2013 10:41 am

    Sounds good and easy. I’ll give it a go one Sunday morning.

Leave a Reply

