Skip to content

Santa Cruz. And Vans.

March 21, 2013

Saturday morning Neighbor K and I headed up the coast to Santa Cruz.  We passed fields and  fields of artichokes. I’d never seen artichokes growing before so I thought that was pretty cool.  In fact, most of California’s agriculture gets me unreasonably geeked up.  It’s not like I haven’t seen farmland in the past, but California is something special.

We stopped at a roadside fruit stand.  Neighbor K was astounded at this sign: 7 pounds of oranges for a dollar!

IMG_2093

Is that insane?

Of course we had to get our pictures taken with the artichoke cut out.

IMG_2094

Once we arrived in Santa Cruz we were both dead set on finding fresh artichoke for lunch.  Fortunately for us, we found a visitor’s kiosk right in downtown Santa Cruz with an awesome guide.  She was friendly, engaging and so well informed.  We were pointed to a non-touristy lunch spot (with fresh artichoke – YES!) and then given fantastic recommendations about how to spend the rest of the day, complete with parking information.  I wish I could remember her name because she really deserves a thank you.

We split this artichoke, but next time I want my own!

We split this artichoke, but next time I want my own!

I’m fascinated by the surf culture in Santa Cruz.

IMG_2098

IMG_2097

IMG_2099

IMG_2101

All those black dots on the water are surfers!

I found the Santa Cruz Surfing Museum chock full of interesting things.

IMG_2102

This guy was set up just outside of the surf museum, playing his heart out on drums set up inside his van.

IMG_2107

And I’m not certain, but I suspect this guy might actually be living in his van…

IMG_2110

Notice his laundry hanging to dry?

Of course you have your all-purpose surf van:

IMG_2123

Later on we discovered the dog beach.  I vowed to bring Chloe back.

IMG_2105Oh yes, Santa Cruz.  I will be back.

IMG_2119

Soon.

IMG_2111

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 12:54 pm

    This looks like so much fun! And I would be geeked up about all that agriculture too!

Leave a Reply

