Skip to content

The Trip To Yosemite

June 22, 2013

One of the first things the  Nurse asked me when I moved to Sacramento was whether I had been to Yosemite (no) and whether I had any interest in going (YES!).  So we went.

On the way we had to stop and get some cherries.  Because $1 a basket?  That’s crazy talk!  (And slightly deceptive.  The basket I’m holding was actually five dollars.  But still worth it.)

IMG_2641

We stopped in the little town of Mariposa on the way.  Cute shopping, a few restaurants and a good place to stretch our legs.

IMG_2547

Our room wasn’t quite ready for us at the Cedar Lodge, so we backtracked a short distance to hike at Hite Cove.  The Hite Cove trail is known for beautiful wildflower displays, but you have to catch it at exactly the right time.

We missed it probably by a week or so, but we still had fun looking for the stragglers.

After our hike we decided to cool off by the Merced River.  The Nurse had to coach me on my pronunciation.  It’s mer-SED.  We ran into some river rafting guides and got some local tips from them.  These guys are in their 20s and spending the summer doing what they love, basically living out of their cars.  You know what kept running through my brain?  Chris Farley talking about living in a van down by the river.

Here’s the link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XaoM0FyLmGY

You’re welcome for that.

Up Next:  Yosemite!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 24, 2013 7:49 am

    This looks amazing! And I LOVED my postcard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

