Skip to content

More Fun With Mr. Curfew

July 1, 2010

By Sunday afternoon things were square with me and Mr. Curfew.  He had completed his punishment and we were enjoying our last few minutes together with a game of jacks.

He had never played jacks before.  And while I’m sure he would never admit it in front of his friends, I could tell he was enjoying himself.  So much for the curfew breaking tough guy.  It is so obvious that these kids just crave attention.

His foster mom called to say she was on her way, so I had MC pack his bag and bring it downstairs.  Then I explained that I was going to go through his bag because it is my house policy.  Everything was fine until I started checking the pockets on his shorts.  Suddenly he looks agitated and bursts out, “You’re going to find some DVDs in that pocket.” 

Just as he predicted there were three DVDs.  One was very obviously not suitable for a 16 year old boy.  The second had no pictures, but was labeled in a way that lead me to assume that it was also not suitable.  The third DVD had no markings.  So I turned on the DVD player and popped it in.

MC went nuts.

Miss Juice!  What are you doing?  Don’t tell me you’re going to watch that?!?

I calmly explained that I was uncertain about what was on this blank DVD, but I did not want to take something that belonged to MC unless I was certain that it should not be in his posession.  Unless MC wanted to let me know right now that it belonged in the garbage with the other two DVDs?

He nodded so vigorously I thought his head was going to snap off.

Juice 1, MC 0.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 10:36 am

    Oh, you’re good at this. That boy needs you.

  2. debby permalink
    July 1, 2010 12:34 pm

    ohmyohmy. You are good. You should just give birth to a teenager and be done with it. Once in a while I was good like this with my teenagers, but too many times I lost my cool. Ooh, foreshadowing of my problems with Noah.

  3. July 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    Dang Juice – you really got this Foster thing DOWN! Can I send you my kids when they become teenagers?

  4. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    July 1, 2010 1:06 pm

    Applause!!! Although those DVDs make me wonder what he was *really* doing that night breaking curfew…..(silence)….. Ew.

  5. July 1, 2010 1:22 pm

    Oh boy – by the time you decide to get married and have kids you will already been through almost everything a kid can try to put by you. Everything the kids do will be old news! I am glad I don’t have boys but I am not ready for my girls to be teenage girls.

  6. July 1, 2010 3:08 pm

    Bless you! Bless you! Bless you! for doing this much needed work with foster children, I think I might of pinched his head off after the roller rink-“dance” incident.

  7. July 1, 2010 5:07 pm

    Very, very nicely done! Bravo!

    T & C will be coming to live with you when they are teenagers. 😉

  8. July 2, 2010 11:50 pm

    holy smokes you really know how to handle that boy! i will be taking notes for the future when my kids hit that age…

    that or i’ll be sending them to you like KK above will be. 😀

  9. July 3, 2010 10:21 am

    Juice, you are an awesome woman. I’m thinking of how many lives you have touched and made better just by being the kind person you are. You and I think alike when it comes to consequenses (and with three children, there were many!) The opera was a nice touch!

    P.S. I believe some dogs are better patrons than certain people at concerts.

Leave a Reply

