Skip to content

A Creepy Hike

October 22, 2010

Last Saturday Chloe and I explored Little Bennett Regional Park, the largest park in Montgomery County, MD with over 20 miles of hiking trails.   Needless to say, we did not do all 20 miles.

Setting out. Can you see the puppy hidden in this picture?

It was a beautiful day and we saw several people walking different trails as we headed to the parking area.  Which is why it was just creepy that we didn’t see a single soul on the entire 2 hour hike. 

You know what else was creepy?  When Chloe refused to walk past a certain log.  She just froze.  I stopped as well, figuring that she had seen a snake or something.  I didn’t see anything, so I decided we should pass.  We started walking and suddenly Chloe ran as fast as she could in the opposite direction.  That totally creeped me out. 

We had just started the hike and I didn’t want to call it quits.  So I looked carefully again and decided we should pass.  I basically had to drag Chloe along.  As we passed I heard a hissing sound.  I’m not sure if it was Chloe being weird or something else, but it certainly added to the creepiness of the hike.

A very bouncy swinging bridge

This swinging bridge creeped Chloe out.  I don’t think she’s ever been on one before.  When we got to the middle of the bridge she crouched low to keep her balance.  On our return trip she hustled across as fast as she could.

A non creepy Chloe picture

Mama, dis pose show neckerchief better.

Doesn’t Chloe look cute in her festive Halloween neckerchief?

I ready for jill-tee class!

Yep.  That’s my dog on a picnic table.  If you’re planning to picnic at Little Bennett, may I recommend a tablecloth?

New kicks!

This hike marked the inauguration of my new waterproof hiking boots.  Thanks Easter Bunny!  Bawk bawk!*

[*Anyone remember this candy commercial?  My sister and I used that line often.  Dad generously gave me Cabela bucks to get these boots back in the spring.]

See Mama? Jill-tee!

 

Bored now. Kthanxbye!

What makes that picture creepy is that there’s an axe murderer hidden in the trees.  Bwahahahaha.

I rest now.

Boy, wouldn’t this post end nicely if something creepy happened in the car on the way home?  But nothing did.  Unless you count stopping at the library to pick up a Glee DVD creepy.  ‘Cause it is a little creepy that 23 year old actors are playing 14 year olds on TV.  I’m just saying.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 11:09 am

    AAAAAAAAAAH totally creepy!!!!

  2. October 22, 2010 12:34 pm

    Wow, if it hadn’t been for that leash, Chloe would have been nearly impossible to spot in that photo! And she’s wearing just the right neckerchief for a creepy hike!

    That’s weird about the log. There must have been some creature inside, like maybe a raccoon. Though you’re lucky there wasn’t a grumpy (or hungry) old troll under that bridge! Of course, Chloe could have told it, “Well, eat me if you must, but you really ought to save your appetite for my pal Noah.” (Debby’s Noah, of course, who would have seized the troll and carried him around like a prize stick.)

  3. October 22, 2010 3:40 pm

    I don’t know about anyone else, but I live for Chlo-speak blogs!

    JILL-TEE C’ASS!!!

  4. October 23, 2010 11:21 am

    Crreeeepppyyy, yes. But what a tour guide to keep you alerted to dangers! 🙂

  5. October 23, 2010 2:41 pm

    What a fun hike! Oh, and creepy, too. It’s almost cool enough here to hike. I thought we had it a couple of weeks ago, but that was just Mother Texas foolin’ us. Apparently, our dogs days last until Novemeber.

    P.S. Yes, it IS creepy that 24 year olds play high school kids. When I was 24 I could have played Peg Bundy. hahahaha!

  6. debby permalink
    October 23, 2010 4:14 pm

    Funny blog and funny comments!

    Yes, the hike in an unfamiliar place without seeing anyone creeps me out too. And it seems that the doggies are easily creeped out too, which makes me very nervous. Although I feel pretty safe with Noah. Do ax murderers hiss?

    Chloe is SO CUTE!!!!! That one pic of her standing on the bridge, she looks very italian greyhound-ish. And yes, I too live for Chloe-speak. Very interesting that she has developed a completely different ‘voice’ than Cecelia. But I have to admit, I am stumped by the Jil-Tee class?

    I LOVE your boots! I want some. Off to check them out!

    • Juice permalink*
      October 23, 2010 4:25 pm

      Jill-Tee = Agility 🙂

      • debby permalink
        October 24, 2010 6:53 pm

        Haha! You made me LOL all over again!

  7. October 26, 2010 9:23 pm

    Sometimes you just gotta listen to your gut. I’m glad that it was just your gut and the creepiness didn’t reach a head or anything afterwards. I love the line “I’m just saying” for some reason–always makes me laugh. If I ever blog again, I’m going to work it in somehow.

Leave a Reply

