Skip to content

I’ll Have The Soup, With A Side Of Electrician

February 20, 2011

You know how things break around the house and you keep meaning to fix them but time just passes?  And you keep forgetting to get the part you need from the store?

Kind of like my under-cabinet lights.

Not my kitchen, but I think those are my exact cabinets

 

One of the lights burned out and it took me a while to get the halogen bulb.  And then when I finally replaced the bulb it had the nerve to not work.  Frustrating!  Especially since this set of lights is right above my kitchen sink and I use them all the time when washing dishes.

I know we’ve already talked about my lack of handygirl-skillz, but I truly did what I could.  I bought another new bulb.  No dice.  I went down to the creepy basement (eek! I know!) and checked the fuse box.  Someone told me to check the GFI something or another so I did that.  Still nothing.  So I did what any girl would do.  I emailed my dad for help.  Actually I tried to convince him to come for a visit, but somehow Baltimore in February didn’t do it for him.  Hmmm.

So just recently I saw this recipe on the Meadowbrook Farm blog.   Doesn’t it look yummy?  I made it the other night and invited the neighbors over to join me in a taste test.  I used red lentils and it was delicious!  Although next time I think I might use only half the sausage and less cream.

Anyhoo, while the neighbors were over we got to talking about my lights.  And lucky me Neighbor B brought over some tools and discovered a blown fuse in the transformer!  So I’m just a little bit closer to fixing my problem.

Although when I’ll get to the Radio Shack is beyond me…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 10:17 am

    Gotta love the handy neighbors! I used to call my dad to help out with small repair tasks when I lived in Baltimore–and I remember how much I hated going down into my rowhouse basement!!

    • February 22, 2011 1:30 pm

      Practicing Mama, I remember listening to your smoke detector chirp chirp chirp for weeks because you didn’t want to go into the basement! Ah, the good old days…

  2. Zoe's Mom permalink
    February 23, 2011 12:06 pm

    Oh yummmy! And what a bonus to have an electrically gifted neighbor!

Leave a Reply

