Skip to content

Living on Sudafed, Vitamin C and Advil

September 21, 2009

All my friends can say is ain’t it a shame.

I am home sick from work today.  I’ve been sick since Friday.  What a fabulous way to spend a weekend.  Fortunately this is not a bodily-fluids-projectiling kind of sick.  Just your run of the mill headache, sinus, sore throat kind of thing.  The kind where you tell time in four hour increments because the meds start wearing off. 

My mom helpfully reminded me (after the fact) that they make 12 hour sudafed, but I was overwhelmed by the variety and picked up the first box of generic and got out of the Target.  So four hour fakeafed it is.  It’s the new Up & Up brand.  Have you guys seen it?  Target sent me a huge coupon book introducing it, so now pretty much everything in my house is Up & Up.  Including the fakeafed although there was no coupon for that.  Bummer.

Do you know what is not a shame?  The fact that I cooked beans twice this weekend and they turned out great.  So Beans 2, Juice 2.  My freezer is now stocked with fully cooked navy beans and a yummy red lentil soup.  Take that beans!  I’m still no Julia Child, but I’m a pretty decent soup and chili maker.

Speaking of Julia Child, I have now watched Julie and Julia AND I have read Julia’s My Life in France.  All I have to say that the movie was pretty flattering to ol’ Julia.   There’s one scene in the movie where modern day Julie learns that Julia has heard of her blog and pretty much disses it.  Given the rest of the movie, I was really surprised by the scene.  But after reading the book I can totally see Julia doing that.  She was certainly opinionated!

In my opinion, I’m in need of a nap.  And a fakeafed from the Target.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 6:19 pm

    Sorry to hear that you’re sick, but glad the bean cooking is working out! Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. debby permalink
    September 21, 2009 6:25 pm

    I was wondering where you were. You sure are a prolific reader! NO, I haven’t even gotten near that book yet (my life in france) Is it worth reading? I bought too many books on my home vacay, and I am a slow reader anyway. I have Francis Chan’s new book ‘Forgotten God,’ and Donald Miller’s new book ‘A Million Miles in a Thousand Days.’ And a book ab/C.S. Lewis’s spiritual formation, and a new Robin Cook book which Oliver ate the complete cover of (why? I feed him every day…) and Life of Pi, and I don’t know, but too many books. I need to organize my book reading!

  3. Juice permalink*
    September 22, 2009 9:44 am

    I’m a little bummed that no one has commented on my Grateful Dead reference! Truckin? Anyone? Bueller?

  4. September 22, 2009 10:13 am

    Sorry to hear you are under the truck…weather…Sorry, to be honest I missed the GD reference. But you rocked the beans, so maybe you really are Julia Child?

  5. September 22, 2009 11:15 am

    I’m too old? too young? too conservative? too geekish? to get any grateful dead reference! But I really do enjoy your clever writing, and even when I don’t get it I have a faint feeling that I am missing something funny. I liked the fadeafed reference though…

  6. September 22, 2009 12:31 pm

    We hope you feel better soon 🙂

  7. September 22, 2009 12:34 pm

    Feel better!!!!

  8. debby permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:47 pm

    APPLE HILL????!!! That’s me shouting. I have been thinking a lot lately about how I missed that opportunity to meet you when you were out here this spring. And how I’d probably never have another chance. Apple Hill is about an hour from my house, and one of my favorite places to visit in the fall. It’s kind of dangerous though–way too many delicious apple food creations. And I want to try all of them.

    That said, it might not work out for me to get to meet you if you are spending time with your family. And, I am going to be gone quite a bit in October. But if you might want to meet up, let me know!

Leave a Reply

