Skip to content

Random Thoughts Jumping Around My Head Which May Or May Not Be Christmas-y

December 23, 2010

Clearly it’s been too long since I blogged.  I have at least a half dozen topics that are crowding my brain, so I just need to vomit them here.  Sorry to be so graphic, but there you go.

1. Speaking of vomit, some drunk decided the sidewalk next to my steps was a perfect place.   Yes.  For that.  Chloe about snapped her leash trying to get to it – gross!  Fortunately I had a firm grip that day. This story really doesn’t need a picture.  I’m sure you can imagine.

2.  Speaking of pictures, here is a picture of Simon, who has been adopted.  Hooray! 

Simon and Chloe

3. Please notice Chloe (above) in her Christmas sweater.  A woman stopped me while I was walking Chloe and just gave us the sweater.  Apparently it was the wrong size for her dog.  See?  Another reason Baltimore is a great place to live.  In spite of vomiting drunks.

4. Our Esther Bible study wrapped up this week.  That Beth Moore sure can preach it!  I want to do another of her studies soon.

5. We had our company Christmas party last weekend.  I thought this picture of me and my boss’s hubby turned out funny.  We’re such posers.  I pulled my hair straight so it looks longer.  Is it time for a cut?  I know my Mom would say yes, but that is because she forgets that I’m actually a rock star.  *snort*

6. I made a really yummy pumpkin gingerbread recipe the other day using this recipe.  Debby, don’t even look – all that sugar will make your teeth hurt.

7.  I know you all are desperate to know what picture I chose for my Christmas card.  The answer is D) None of the above.  You’ll just have to wait and see…

8. There is a constellation of blemishes growing at the corner of my lip.  Not just a blemish, an entire constellation!  So darn annoying.  Fortunately Bosslady says they are not terribly noticable.  She also had the brilliant idea to switch out my moisturizer applicator.  Genius.  This must be why she is the boss. (Update: Even with the switch-out my constellation is growing.  Oh, the horror.)

9. I have had two flat tires this month.  Count ’em.  Two.  In the bitterest-cold December I can remember.  But here is evidence that God works in mysterious ways.  Flat tire #1 occurred on my street and one of my dear neighbors changed the tire for me while I watched.  Flat tire #2 occurred on the side of Interstate 95 during rush hour in a construction zone with limited shoulder.  Oh, and just for kicks, I had both Simon and Chloe in the car with me, both of whom attempted to escape from the car when I opened the door.  I’m just thankful it was daylight and not raining or snowing.  But here is where God is good.  Since I had watched Neighbor B change the tire earlier, I was pretty comfortable changing out this tire.  Not happy mind you, but at least not as crazily intimidated as I would have been.  Because me and mechanical stuff DO. NOT. MIX.   I was doing a good job, too, until this nice man pulled up to help me finish the job.  And then I cried.  I’d like to think they were tears of joy, but there might have been a little frustration and thankfulness thrown in there too.   I’m just keepin’ it real, yo.

10.  I completed my New Year’s Resolution!  Of course I forgot to take a picture to document it, but my Christmas cards went out this year with happy address labels.  Figuring out the mail merge feature was a bit of a challenge and my tech guy had to be called in to fix something that wasn’t loaded quite right, but in the end it all worked out.  Doing Christmas cards with pre-addressed labels was just dreamy.  I highly recommend it!

In case I do not post again before Christmas, I hope everyone has the merriest.  Christ the Savior is born!  Hallelujah!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 11:47 am

    Hallelujah indeed!

    I hope you have a very Merry Christmas!!

    And for the record, I think I’ve had as many “blemishes” in my 30’s as I did in my teens. What’s up with that? Nothing like having a big red bullseye right on the end of my nose at Christmas. That’s a mean joke for God to play, don’t you think? 😉

  2. December 23, 2010 12:40 pm

    Random comments
    1. Hallelujah! Merry Christmas!
    2. I love Beth Moore.
    3. Tears of joy, PTL for nice people.
    4. I am also having blemishes for Christmas.
    5. Vomit is nasty.

  3. December 23, 2010 11:08 pm

    Have a Merry Christmas and stay warm up in the frozen north!

  4. debby permalink
    December 24, 2010 2:57 am

    You know I had to look! My teeth don’t hurt, but my stomach hurts a little. Mostly because my pants are too tight because I’ve eaten too much sugar. I’m at the end of that now. They don’t have sugar in Africa, right?

    Have a wonderful blessed Christmas, Juice!

  5. December 24, 2010 4:38 am

    Merry Christmas to you & yours, Juice! I’m so glad you have nice people handing out dog sweaters there in Baltimore (not to mention helping you change tires), because I’m going to be late with Chloe’s. (*blush*)

    What is it about dogs and nasty things on the ground? (I was actually kind of relieved to read that Chloe tried to get it, she sounds so perfect that I was beginning to wonder if she was quite…dog.)

    And oh heck yes to the printed labels! It has made Christmas cards doable. I’m sure we would have missed a few years if we had to address them all by hand.

  6. December 24, 2010 8:49 am

    Chloe is adorable in her new sweater! I’m so happy that Simon found a home for Christmas. Have a wonderful Christmas!

    P.S. I *loved* the picture you chose!!

  7. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    December 24, 2010 10:36 am

    Merry Christmas Juice!!!

    I’m at mom & dad’s too. K9 brother is here with his dog so you can just imagine: small cottage + 2 dogs (1 big, 1 medium) + 2 cats (both sequestered, due the the “near death experience” of one of them last year) + 4 adults = THANK GOD dad put in another bathroom this year! @ssh0ley brother & fam are overseas so NO family drama this year. Yaaaaay. One of the _many_ things to thank God about (at least in my world). 🙂

    Wow, your hair is so long! Looks great! In that picture you remind me of Ingrid Michaelson, the singer. Check it out:

    I owe you an email (as usual). Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!!!

    P.S. If I ever move to Baltimore (due to all the nice people there) I’ll have to change my name to Brooklyn_2_Baltimore. Kinda catchy, don’t you think?

  8. December 27, 2010 4:27 pm

    You are my heroine for changing your own tire! Especially with two excited “passengers”! I can only imagine your relief when the guy came along to help!

    So glad to hear that Simon has been adopted!

Leave a Reply

