Skip to content

Cool Chicken And Noodle Salad

July 31, 2012

Keeping with my New Year’s Resolution, I tried a new recipe last week.  Ridgely was coming over for dinner and I knew she’d be up for an experiment.  Doncha love good friends that you don’t have to try to impress?  I pulled this salad from Woman’s Day and it’s a keeper:

Cool Chicken And Noodle Salad (serves 4)

Ingredients

  • 8 ounce(s) angel hair or capellini pasta
  • 1 tablespoon(s) toasted sesame oil (optional)
  • 1/4 cup(s) fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoon(s) light brown sugar
  • 1  red chili, or ½ tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
  •  Kosher salt
  •  Pepper
  • 1  Granny Smith apple, cut into wedges and thinly sliced
  • 1/2  seedless cucumber, cut into thin half-moons
  • 2  scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1  (2- to 2 1/2-pound) rotisserie chicken
  • 1/4 cup(s) fresh mint, thinly sliced

Directions

  1. Cook the noodles according to package directions. Rinse under cold water to cool, then toss with the sesame oil (if using).
  2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the lime juice, brown sugar, chili (if using), 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.
  3. Add the apple, cucumber, and scallions to the lime juice mixture and toss to coat. Slice or shred the chicken, discarding the bones. Add to the apple-cucumber mixture and toss to combine. Add the noodles and mint and toss again.

Of course I can’t read a recipe without tweaking it slightly.  I ditched the scallions because we’ve never been friends.  I used a sprinkle of ground red pepper instead of red pepper flakes because that’s what was in the spice cabinet.  And I swapped out the expensive seedless cuke for a cheap cuke that I de-seeded (I think I just made that word up).

This was tasty and delicious!  Ridgely and I went back for seconds.  I used fresh mint that I grew all by myself.  Well, actually that’s a lie.  Mom planted that mint, but I have been watering it, so that’s got to count for something.  

New Year’s Resolution: Checkity check check check!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    July 31, 2012 10:44 am

    I’m going to try that recipe!!

  2. August 1, 2012 9:11 am

    Me, too! Sounds very yummy.

  3. Brooklyn_Friend permalink
    August 1, 2012 2:44 pm

    Not being one of those disciplined souls, I don’t make New Years resolutions….. But I love hearing people follow theirs! 🙂

  4. debby permalink
    August 3, 2012 10:10 am

    That combo sounds delicious. I don’t really like cold pasta, so I’ll have to think of a substitute,but I’m going to try it! I don’t think the sesame oil is optional–I LOVE the taste of that stuff!

  5. August 9, 2012 8:17 am

    WOW! Made the salad last night. I loved it. We both had seconds AND I ate it for breakfast this morning! The “cool” salad made it perfect for leftovers (and no wilty lettuce). Your mint was wonderful THANK YOU!!

Leave a comment